Creggan U14 Hurling News Sheet

09 May 2012
Dear Parents,
Thank you all for your support over the past number of weeks.  I’m sure you would like to join us in congratulating the boys for retaining the south west Feile title for the eighth year in succession! Very well done!!!
  • following this success we travelled to Portaferry on 28 april 2012 to compete in Division-2 of the Ulster Feile.  We started the day off very well with a win over the host club, Portaferry, and followed this by beating St.Galls & Lavey only to draw the decider with Derrynoose and to lose out on score difference.  Having lost our mid-field, Matthew Rodgers, mid-way through the event to injury we were on fumes and looked likely to crash out at halftime.  After the re-start Derrynoose got an early goal and we thought we were finished.  However, it was the determination of the creggan lads that had shown through and the game was soon leveled, putting the fear-of-god into Derrynoose.  We had our opponents on the ropes and seconds after the whistle blew we drove the ball over the goal line..Seconds too late!  On the day Derrynoose got through by the skin of their teeth - good luck to them in the final.
we now look forward to the league which will start in early May 2012 and still have fixtures to compete in the All-County Feile playing either south Antrim or north Antrim – to be confirmed.  Regardless of the county Feile wins there is no Antrim-B Feile winner invited to the National Feile in Dublin.
with this in mind I would encourage all parents to get behind the team and mentors to make a great success of the forthcoming arrival of the Galway team, Mullagh, for the weekend of 29 june 2012.
plans are well underway with 24 players, mentors and some parents expected for the weekend. The hurling committee will organise the events on the field but if any parent wishes to consider other activities for the weekend we would welcome their suggestions.
we shall arrange a meeting to discuss plans  for hosting the players but if any parents have any concerns please feel free to contact us or any committee member.
Joe Rice
Dermot Carey
Brendan Prenter

View Gallery