The Thomas McCann Plasterers, South West Feile na nGael final

24 April 2012
Kickham’s 7-08 v 0-02 Tir na nOg

On Saturday at a wet and miserable Ahoghill, the U14 hurlers of Kickhams and Tir na nOg played out a very entertaining South West Feile na nGael final.
Tir na nOg piled on the early pressure and dominated the opening exchanges. Indeed but for two super saves early in the game by the Kickham’s net minder Oisin McAteer, Tir na nOg could have sneaked in for an early lead. Tir na nOg were dominating midfield and continued to drive long high ball into the Kickhams full back line. However the tide was about to turn. The next two deliveries were fielded superbly by full back Kevin Small who rose high into the air to collect and deliver long relieving clearances downfield. Indeed it was one of these clearances that Tiarnan McAteer latched onto and finished sweetly to the Tir na nOg net. Captain fantastic Matthew Rodgers began to dominate at centre half back and Liam “the mighty” Quinn and Ciaran Rice were now pulling all the strings at mid-field. As a result the cracks began to appear in the Tir na nOg defence resulting in a goal from Dermot Carey and when a miss hit puck out landed kindly for Tiarnan “the poacher” McAteer he didn’t need a second invite, coolly slotting the ball past the helpless Tir na nOg goal keeper. Points from Kealan McCann (1) and Dermot Carey (3) made the half time score 3-4 to no score in favour of Kickhams. Tir na nOg started the second half brightly and scored two points however Creggan continued to pile on the pressure resulting in a number of further scores. Overall it was a fantastic, co-ordinated team performance from Creggan where the defence including; Liam McCann, Jamie McCann, Conaill Prenter and Aidan McAuley were on top form. Cormac McCann, Eunan McAteer and in particular Sean Kelly worked tirelessly in the attack.

The Kickhams Creggan team was:
1. Oisin McAteer
2. Liam McCann
3. Kevin Small
4. Jamie McCann
5. Conaill Prenter
6. Matthew Rodgers (capt)
7. Aidan McAuley
8. Ciaran Rice (0-01)
9. Liam Quinn
10. Cormac McCann
11. Sean Kelly
12. Kealan McCann (0-02)
13. Tiarnan McAteer (4-01)
14. Dermot Carey (3-04)
15. Eunan McAteer
16. Killian Burke
17. Ryan Flemming
18. Joe Sweeney
19. Eamon Kelly

View Gallery