ACFL Div. 1 - Kickhams Vs Gort na Mona

13 April 2008
ACFL Div. 1
13 April 2008
Kickhams Creggan 1-11
Gort na Mona 0-10

Creggan seniors got off to a winning start in the first match of the new 2008 season at home to Gort na Mona. In what proved to be a hard fought match, it was the visitors from Belfast that started the stronger going 2 points ahead in the opening minutes. Dermot McCann, playing at centre half back, registered Creggans first score by pointing in the sixth minute to settle the home side down. Gort na Mona though quickly reclaimed their two point advantage by taking the next score.

Creggan put together a 5 minute spell of domination by scoring 3 unanswered points from Thomas McCann, and one each from the Dougan brothers, though this was followed by 3 points without reply from Gort na Mona. Thomas McCann pulled one back and Darrell Martin reduced the arrears further by slotting over a great point. The visiting team registered the final point of the half to lead 0-8 to 0-6 at the short whistle.

After the restart, Thomas McCann got the first score though this was quickly cancelled out by Gort na Mona. This proved to be their last point until the 60th minute though, as Creggan dominated the scoring battle. Mark Dougan notched another point but the crucial score of the game came from the boot of Odhran McLarnon who finished emphatically to the net on 40 minutes after a fine move up the pitch out of defence.

Mark Dougan added a further two points with Ciaran McCartney notching the final insurance score for Creggan to run out 4 point winners.

A good all round performance from the home side and it was important to gain an early 2 points in what will be a hard fought league campaign. Best for Creggan were Dermot McCann and Mark Anthony McNicholl and special mention must go to Danny Maguire who was making his starting senior debut at corner back.

Kickhams Team - Leon Bonnes, Danny Maguire, Tony Close, Caolan McCann, Turloch McAteer, Dermot McCann (0-1), MA McNicholl, Hugh McKay (Joe Robb), Darrell Martin (0-1), Peter McCollum, Adrian Dougan (0-1), Thomas McCann (0-3), Ciaran McCartney (0-1), Mark Dougan (Capt.) (0-4), Odhran McLarnon (1-0).

More match pictures available in the Gallery section.

View Gallery